campspec

About campspec

The campspec team

campspec compares camping and touring gear sold in Australia on three things: what the manufacturer states it does, what it costs today, and what it has cost before. It covers portable power stations, with 39 products carrying a current price, and reads prices from 9 Australian retailers every day.

It is not a review site. Nothing here has been tested by hand, and there are no star ratings, no reliability verdicts and no “best buy” badges. How long a product lasts, and how its warranty is honoured, are not questions a specification answers; where a page gives the stated warranty or a recall, that is a fact about the product, not a verdict on it.

Where the figures come from

Specifications come from the manufacturer first: its product pages, manuals and specification sheets. A retailer's listing supplies a figure only where the manufacturer publishes none. Every figure carries its source, the date the source was read, and the condition it was measured under where the source gives one, such as the ambient temperature behind a fridge's power draw, or whether a power station's capacity is its nameplate figure. Where two sources disagree by more than a small margin, the figure is left out: a wrong weight is worse than a missing one.

Figures such as cents per watt-hour are plain arithmetic on stated figures, and the working is shown beside them. Two figures measured under different conditions are never set side by side as if they were the same.

How prices are checked

Prices come from the retailers' own product feeds, read every day. Some feeds state no stock, and some differ from the price on the shelf, so a second daily read of retailer product pages confirms stock and price for offers that are new, have changed, or would become the headline price. The headline price on a product is the lowest current price from a retailer that states it in stock; a retailer known to match competitors' prices takes the headline only when another retailer's price is within 10% of its own. A price that has not been read recently is not shown as current.

Every daily reading is kept, from 22 Sept 2026 onwards, so each product carries its own price history. A struck-through “was” price appears only where that history saw the same retailer charge it.

What “not stated” means

“Not stated” means none of the sources read for that product publishes the figure, or publishes it without the condition needed to compare it. It is never an estimate and never a zero, and it often marks the figure that would decide a comparison.

Corrections

A figure that looks wrong can be reported through the contact page. Each report is checked against the figure's source, and a confirmed error is corrected everywhere the figure appears.

How the site is funded

campspec earns a commission on some retailer links. Commission does not decide which products or prices are listed; the affiliate and earnings disclosure sets out what it does and does not change.