campspec
Method

How figures are compared

The rules every campspec comparison uses: which figures are set side by side, the gap that counts, what "not stated" means, and where prices come from.

One rule for every pair

Two figures are set side by side only when both brands measure them the same way. A capacity on the box is compared with a capacity on the box, a weight of the unit alone with a weight of the unit alone, a charge time from empty to full with the same. A figure measured another way is shown with a note saying how, and is not compared.

A difference is listed only when the gap is at least the size below. Smaller gaps are shown as about the same. The sizes are the same for every pair on the site.

Portable power stations

  • Capacity: 10% or more
  • Price: 10% or more
  • Price per Wh: 10% or more
  • Stated warranty: any difference
  • 12 V car socket: any difference
  • AC output, non-stop: 15% or more
  • AC surge: 15% or more
  • Cycle life: 20% or more
  • Expansion batteries: one has it and the other doesn't
  • Weight: 8% or more
  • UPS switchover: 5 ms or more
  • Wall charging, empty to full: 20% or more
  • Wall charging, fast mode: 20% or more
  • Solar input: 20% or more

Portable fridges

  • Power use: 15% or more
  • Price: 10% or more
  • Price per litre: 10% or more
  • Capacity: 10% or more
  • Zones: one has it and the other doesn't
  • Weight: 8% or more
  • Warranty: any difference
  • Compressor warranty: any difference
  • Coldest setting: 5 °C or more
  • Battery it carries: one has it and the other doesn't
  • Ice maker: one has it and the other doesn't
  • 240 V lead in the box: one has it and the other doesn't

Portable solar panels

  • Rated output: 10% or more
  • Price: 10% or more
  • Price per watt: 10% or more
  • Open-circuit voltage: 2 V or more
  • Weight: 8% or more
  • Folded size: 15% or more
  • Folded thickness: 25% or more
  • Warranty: any difference
  • Type: one has it and the other doesn't
  • Watts per square metre unfolded: 10% or more

Tents

  • Sleeps: 1 person or more
  • Floor: 10% or more
  • Floor per person: 10% or more
  • Price: 10% or more
  • Price per person: 10% or more
  • Waterhead: 500 mm or more
  • Fabric: worded differently (set side by side, neither favoured)
  • Floor fabric: worded differently (set side by side, neither favoured)
  • Weight: 8% or more
  • Packed length: 10% or more
  • Headroom: 100 mm or more
  • Frame: worded differently (set side by side, neither favoured)
  • Warranty: any difference

Swags

  • Sleeps: 1 person or more
  • Price: 10% or more
  • Mattress: 10 mm or more
  • Floor: 10% or more
  • Weight: 8% or more
  • Packed length: 10% or more
  • Fabric: worded differently (set side by side, neither favoured)
  • Floor fabric: worded differently (set side by side, neither favoured)
  • Waterhead: 500 mm or more
  • Headroom: 100 mm or more
  • Frame: worded differently (set side by side, neither favoured)
  • Warranty: any difference

What “not stated” means

The brand's website and manual, as read on the date shown, do not give that figure. Each figure on a product page shows the page it came from and the day it was read. Where a brand states a figure without saying how it was measured, the page says that too.

Where the figures come from

Specifications come from the manufacturer's Australian pages and manuals first, and from retailer listings second. A manufacturer figure beats a retailer figure. Where two sources disagree beyond a small tolerance, the figure is left out: a wrong figure is worse than a missing one.

Where the prices come from

Prices come from each retailer's product feed, read daily, and are kept from the first day. A price is shown as current only while it is fresh against the newest reading. The exception: BCF has no feed yet, so its prices come from one price list and each is shown with the date of that list. A struck-out old price is shown only when the record saw that shop at that price.

Fridge runtime

The nights a power station runs a fridge are worked out from the capacity on the box, the fridge's stated draw at its stated conditions, and the station's own draw and usable capacity. Brands rarely publish the last two, so each is set at a range taken from tests of stations, or at a test of that exact station where one exists. The middle of the range is the estimate shown; the ends are the range. The fridge calculator shows the whole sum.

About the site · Affiliate disclosure